

City of Southport Historic Preservation Commission Minutes February 7, 2024 Indian Trail Meeting Hall, 113 W. Moore St.

Member's Present:	Charles Drew, Josh Cline McGee, Jim McKee, Bonnie Bray, and Joanne Wesson.
Members Absent:	Tal West, Bonner Herring, Rick Pukenas, and Alexis Gore-Graves.
Staff Present:	City Planner Mo Meehan and Deputy Clerk Tanya Shannon
Aldermen Liaison:	Robert Carroll

- A. Chairman Drew called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m.
- **B.** The Invocation was given by Chairman Drew.
- **C.** Chairman Drew led the Pledge of Allegiance.
- D. Motion to approve the Agenda by Ms. Wesson and seconded by Mr. McKee. Unanimous Vote; Motion Carried.
- E. Motion to approve the January 3, 2024, Meeting Minutes by Mr. McGee and seconded by Ms. Wesson. *Unanimous Vote; Motion Carried.*
- F. Public Comment: None
- G. Old Business: None
- H. New Business: None
- I. Other Business:
- 1. <u>Historic Design Standards Joint Meeting with the Planning Board.</u>

Ms. Meehan said that at the last meeting, the Commission decided to hold a joint meeting with the Planning Board. This meeting will be held on February 15th at the Community Building, starting at 6:00 p.m. Ms. Meehan will give a brief presentation on the standards, followed by comments and questions from the Planning Board. Chairman Drew inquired if a public hearing would be called. Ms. Meehan responded that it is not required at this stage but could still be called. Ms. Wesson mentioned that the public will have plenty of opportunities to ask questions and provide feedback. Ms. Meehan said that the Board of Aldermen is required to hold a Public Hearing before any decisions are made.

2. Adoption Procedure for Historic District Boundary

Ms. Meehan mentioned that Ms. Kristi Brantley, the Local Government/CLG Coordinator, suggested that the city could use the current national historic district's boundary if they wished to. However, the commission requested that the district's boundaries be extended and updated. To do so, the commission needs to submit a report, including an inventory list with pictures, to the State Historic Office for review. Ms. Meehan provided a handout that outlines the basic local landmark designation process. Chairman Drew confirmed that the Board of Aldermen would have to adopt the district's updates. Ms. Meehan estimated that it could take a few months for the State to approve the new district. She also mentioned that property owners would be informed of the proposed changes to their district. Mr. McGee asked if the properties on the district line could be brought into a clean line, and Ms. Meehan confirmed that the closed perimeters could be tied

in for a cleaner boundary. Alderman Carroll reiterated that the citizens should be informed if they are in the district so they can review the standards.

Ms. Wesson said that the area at the Yacht Basin will have to be reviewed and designated. Ms. Meehan agreed and noted that the Commission would be working on that soon.

- J. Chairman Drew inquired about the next steps in the process. Ms. Meehan shared that she will be working on additional lots that may be considered and provided a map of the areas of interest. The Commission agreed to focus on cleaning up boundary lines rather than unnecessary inclusions. Ms. Meehan explained that some lots are split in the middle. Ms. Bray asked if the Aldermen need to adopt the standards before this is completed. Ms. Meehan clarified that updating and approving the district would make it easier for the public to see if they are in the district and become familiar with the standards. It's possible that the standards will be adopted first, but reviewing the boundaries will take a few weeks.
- **K. Announcements**: Reminder that the Steering Committee will be meeting on March 15th, and Mr. McGee is the Historic Preservation Commission's representative.
- L. Since there were no further questions or comments, Chairman Drew asked for a motion to adjourn. So moved by Mr. McGee and second by Ms. Wesson. *Unanimous Vote; Motion Carried*

Adjournment—4:25 p.m.

Chairman, Charles Drew

Deputy Clerk, Tanya Shannon