

City of Southport Board of Adjustment March 22, 2022 113 W. Moore Street Indian Trail Meeting Hall 4:30 p.m.

Present:Chairman Harley Lemons, Pete Haislip, Josh Cline McGee, Jason Robbins, Amy
Aycock, and Loten Masker.Absent:Lisa Fosbury

Staff Present: Dorothy Dutton, City Clerk Thomas Lloyd, Developmental Services Director

Others Present: Tom Lombardi, Aldermen Liaison Kate Seigler, Recommended ETJ Member

- 1.) Call to order by Chairman Harley Lemons at 4:30 p.m.
- 2.) Chairman Lemons led everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance.
- **3.)** City Clerk Dorothy Dutton performed the Oath of Office for Jason Robbins, Loten Masker, and Amy Aycock. Chairman Lemons reported that an application had been submitted by Kate Seigler, to serve as the other ETJ member. She has a legal background and will be an important asset to the Board. A recommendation will be made at the next Aldermen meeting and then the County will have to approve. Ms. Seigler introduced herself.
- 4.) After a motion made by Loten Masker and seconded by Pete Haislip, the Board of Adjustment approved the minutes from their meeting on February 22, 2022. All ayes. Motion carried.
- 5.) Development Services Director Thomas Lloyd explained that there were no applications received for consideration, but the Board Chair wanted to get together for training. There are several modules created by the UNC School of Government that explain different aspects of quasi-judicial decisions. For today, they would watch "Conducting an Evidentiary Hearing" and "Making Quasi-judicial Decisions." The training module was narrated by Mr. David Owens, one of the foremost experts on land use law and long-time professor with the School of Government. At times, the module was paused for questions and discussion. Because here was so much discussion, the Board decided to postpone the second module until the next training opportunity.
- 6.) After a motion by Pete Haislip and seconded by Josh Cline McGee, Chairman Lemons adjourned the meeting at 6:15 p.m. All ayes. Motion carried.

Harley Lemons, Chair

Dorothy Dutton, City Clerk